New to DSLR's and new to macro

SimonMWSimonMW Registered Users Posts: 79 Big grins
edited September 10, 2007 in Holy Macro
Hi,

I'm pretty new to DSLR's. Got my first one the other week (Pentax K10D). I had a few old primes and some bellows lying around and did some test shots with a 135mm Super Takumar. I decided I would like to try macro photography a lot more, so I managed to get a longer bellows unit and focus rails on Ebay for next to nothing. They turned out to be in as new condition. The focus rails seem to have made life a lot easier!

Here is a shot I took quite quickly with the new setup. It's no masterpiece, and like a fool I forgot to switch RAW mode on when I took it which caused me problems as I had under exposed (the joys of learning new equipment!) But I'd appreciate any comments anyway (don't be too harsh!)

Still trying to get to grips with things like post sharpening, so I've been reading the tutorials on Dgrin frantically and hope to put some of the new found knowledge to work when I next go out.

flyonpostnew.jpg

Here is another one I took just afterwards.

flyleafnew.jpg
My website
My Smugmug gallery
Pentax K10D
Canon 60D

Comments

• SkippySkippy Registered Users Posts: 12,075 Major grins
    edited September 8, 2007
    SimonMW wrote:
    Hi,

I'm pretty new to DSLR's. Got my first one the other week (Pentax K10D). I had a few old primes and some bellows lying around and did some test shots with a 135mm Super Takumar. I decided I would like to try macro photography a lot more, so I managed to get a longer bellows unit and focus rails on Ebay for next to nothing. They turned out to be in as new condition. The focus rails seem to have made life a lot easier!

Here is a shot I took quite quickly with the new setup. It's no masterpiece, and like a fool I forgot to switch RAW mode on when I took it which caused me problems as I had under exposed (the joys of learning new equipment!) But I'd appreciate any comments anyway (don't be too harsh!)