Options

JPEG White Balance

xendless xurbiaxendless xurbia Registered Users Posts: 43 Big grins
edited September 17, 2007 in Finishing School
Hello all,

I know the first thing that will be mentioned is "shoot RAW". Well I normally, do, but I had a very very last minute invite the a Hockey Practice, and used the fluorecent WB setting on my D70s. Now when I got home, and downloaded the files to my HD, I noticed there was a very yellow and sometimes green hue on my photo's. Now I'm no expert when it comes to color correction, but what I'd like to ask is the following.

What steps do I need to take to correct these "wrong" settings for WB?

Should I use LAB, and pull the B curves top right in until the yellow hue dissapears? Same with the A's lower left in until the green hue dissapears?

or

Select a white and black point in the Threshold dialog box, and work from there?

Comments

• Options
    BinaryFxBinaryFx Registered Users Posts: 707 Major grins
    edited September 15, 2007
    It may be image dependent on what gives best results. LAB is great for big moves, so if there is a severe cast, then perhaps LAB would be a good starting point, but as the image starts in RGB I would generally prefer to work there first. I would start with setting neutral endpoints and a known neutral midtone or other objects that are known/presumed neutral. This is all done in RGB with a color blend curve. One can then move to LAB if needed. One would need to compare the two approaches to see what was best for the image at hand (starting in RGB before going to LAB vs. going to LAB first before finishing off with RGB edits).

One could also see how the white balance control in current versions of ACR/ALR compare to Photoshop edits on the JPG.

The basics are to look for known colours and to alter their numbers to be provide a more pleasing response, if they are found wanting. If you can post an image that may help.

Hope this helps,

Stephen Marsh.