Options

Calibrating home printers and paper?

jfriendjfriend Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
edited September 18, 2007 in Finishing School
I'm getting a little more serious about home printing and I'm looking for some reading material on calibrating your printer/paper combination - what to do, what products to use, how much it matters, creating your own ICC profiles, etc...

I've also seen that there is a choice to be made on whether you let your printing software do color management or your printer driver and I'd like to learn more about what to do there.

Are there any good articles about tihs online that anyone can point me to? Or any good books on the topic?

I am already doing monitor calibration using a GretagMacbeth Eye One and do soft proofing before doing online print ordering so I'm not a total newbie here, but I haven't really worried about my own home printing setup yet.
--John
HomepagePopular
JFriend's javascript customizationsSecrets for getting fast answers on Dgrin
Always include a link to your site when posting a question

Comments

• Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,699 moderator
    edited September 17, 2007
    John,

To date, I have had good results using the paper manufacturer's profile with Epson and Red River. My monitor is calibrated by a SPyder 2 Pro and my prints are a good match. Prints ordered from Smugmug are close matches to prints from my printer also.

When printing from Photoshop ( or any other color space aware software ) you want to disable the printer doing anything to the color - ie: Let Photoshop manage the color. Letting the printer manage the color is just wrong when printing from a color space aware program. In essence it is defeating what you accomplished in getting the color where you wanted it in Photoshop.

I have PrintFix Pro 2.0 at home, but it will be at least a month before I feel capable of making any comments about it.
    Pathfinder - www.pathfinder.smugmug.com