Portrait Help...

rwellsrwells Registered Users Posts: 6,084 Major grins
edited September 19, 2007 in People
Ok, guys/gals

You may or may not know that I'm a rodeo photographer, but one thing I'm NOT is a portrait photog. I need to change that...

I've got monolights, umbrella's and the like, but at the present I'm trying to learn with a (2) 580EX setup. This will allow me the portability that I want to shoot head-shots at events, etc.

The following pic was shot with the two stated 580EX flashes. Aside from the chair that shouldn't be there, what do I need to do to make this better.
BTW, I don't like the two little catchlights that the two flashes make, so I deleted one and made the other larger, like from an umbrella.

Specifically: I notice that my portrait shots are extremely sharp - too sharp I think. In particular, every bump and wrinkle shows through like that's some kind of triumph. (And PLEASE don't tell my wife I said that!!!) I did apply some blur to this shot, so it's not like I just described.

How the heck do you people get those shots that are sharp, but they look soft? I see them all the time posted here. I'm hoping the magic answer is not a soft-box, cause I need to make this setup work.

Anyway, any and all help is much appreciated.

197088502-L.jpg
Randy

Comments

• Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited September 18, 2007
    A softbox will not affect the sharpness of the image - it just softens the light a bit more.

I wouldn't worry about additional light modifiers. It would appear from this photo that you have it pretty well nailed.

What I have seen work is to take the photo just as sharp as you can make it. Then do some skin softening PP to reduce the ravages of time (though, as seen here, your wife doesn't need any of that sort of thing!). This will soften the image while leaving the eyes sharp - which MUST be tack sharp to make the image appear sharp.