Options

My Love hate affair w/CS2 and advice?

JayMurphyJayMurphy Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 63 Big grins
edited September 21, 2007 in Finishing School
I am pretty new to the digital world and I have a questions.

1) How long would someone say it takes to get to familar with CS2?

I have books that I read but it just some much stuff! And it seems like there are 100 ways to accomplish the same or very similar results.
I wish I had more time to dedicate to learning the software but with work, family and two kids I can only do but so much. On top of that I am still learning the wonderful world photography just trying to take a decent photograph, exposure. composure, ect... you know what I mean.

I my own humble opinion my photo are not that bad but of course they can be better. And with pratcie hopefully they will.:huh

To get more practice I recently began taking my camera with me to work and I go out taking photos at lunch time with a fellow co-worker. From all that I have read and with some of my results I know that noon time of 1pm is not the best time of day to be out and here in AZ at 108F or hotter doesn't help either! Early morning is not a real option for me have to be at work at 6am (I am up a 4:20am and out the door by 5:20am)

What CS2 has done (for now) is to get me to really concentrate on getting the photo "correct" in camera the first time. To get the photo to "pop" with very little to no post processing.

2) I do shoot RAW and I don't mind the conversions to .jpeg are there any suggestions for a stream line work flow?:dunno

Currently, I download my photos rate them. Crop, some exposure adjustments, contrast, saturation... whatever I think maybe needed. Then convert and upload to my web pages (phanfare and/or smug mug: see links below comment are welcomed).