Rugby: Elegant, senseless violence

schmooschmoo Registered Users Posts: 8,468 Major grins
edited September 25, 2007 in Sports
I think the above description is actually geared towards women's rugby, but I always liked the sound of it. :wink

This weekend a friend invited me to come watch a local rugby match, a team that he used to be a part of. I think they are the Baltimore-Chesapeake Brumbies, but either way I know nothing about the game except there's a lot of yelling and scuffling and crunching.

199258591-M-3.jpg

199259124-M-3.jpg

199259750-M-3.jpg

199259976-M-3.jpg

199260350-M-3.jpg

199260570-M-3.jpg

199260939-M-3.jpg

199261252-M-3.jpg

I've never done sports photography before but I figured the high-action practice couldn't hurt. I am in love with the 70-200mm f/2.8 lens, as it did the job perfectly. :lust

ETA: (Wah, I typo'd the subject if it's possible at all to change it... :rolleyes )

Comments

• wxwaxwxwax Registered Users Posts: 15,471 Major grins
    edited September 23, 2007
    Jeez, for someone who's never shot sports before, you did a fine job!

Did this guy need the trainer after this play? lol3.gif

199260570-S-3.jpg
    Sid.
    Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam
    http://www.mcneel.com/users/jb/foghorn/ill_shut_up.au
  • DavidTODavidTO Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    Nice work for a sports n00b!

I love the intensity on their faces in that first shot.

Oh, and I fixed your typo. :D
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • PrezwoodzPrezwoodz Registered Users Posts: 1,147 Major grins
    SOme really nice shots there schmooo! I think you did a great job capturing the game in action.
  • schmooschmoo Registered Users Posts: 8,468 Major grins
    wxwax wrote:
    Did this guy need the trainer after this play? lol3.gif
    Yanno I don't even have those body parts and I think the game looks darned painful.