Options

Fixing the WB

Duckys54Duckys54 Registered Users Posts: 273 Major grins
edited September 25, 2007 in Finishing School
Sorry if thread has been made a thousandf times but my searches were to no avial. Last weekend was homecomming and the parents took lots of pictures like always. Well unfortunetly of the pictures I got they came from my parents who were using a Kodak C300 (?I think?). Basically my thinking is if you guys can help guide me through fixing the WB and any other color adjustments I can do the rest on my own.

I am using Photoshop 7.0 and I have had little experience using it except for putting a filter on. When I open it up it says do I want to use the color profile of the picture, convert document's colors to work space, or discard the color profile.

Here's the picture:
10020982yk7.jpg
I am Trevor and I have upgraded:
Canon 40D
Canon EF-S 17-85 IS

http://www.flickr.com/trevaftw

Comments

• Options
    arodneyarodney Registered Users Posts: 2,005 Major grins
    edited September 24, 2007
    The right answer is almost always use the embedded profile. I'll bet its in sRGB.

IF the WB still looks awful, you'll have to edit the image of course. Doesn't look like the camera provides the Raw file which would make this a heck of a lot easier.
    Andrew Rodney
    Author "Color Management for Photographers"
    http://www.digitaldog.net/
  • Options
    cletuscletus Registered Users Posts: 1,930 Major grins
    As Andrew has said, the embedded profile is usually going to be your best bet. As far as making changes to the image once its open, try searching this forum for "color correction". This thread might be a good place to start. Or you might try Baldy's skin tone tutorial.

Edit: now... if we help you with the white balance, you have to explain to us how you wound up with six dates for homecomming!
  • Options
    kirbinsterkirbinster Registered Users Posts: 301 Major grins
    cletus wrote: