Total newb question

manboumanbou Registered Users Posts: 105 Major grins
edited January 7, 2009 in Cameras
I'm ready to move beyond pocket digital cameras into the SLR world. What equipment, editing software, etc. should I buy? And what is the best way to learn to use it all?
"[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Photography is often finding something cool and taking a picture of it."[/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif] -- Ken Rockwell[/FONT]

Comments

• Chrissiebeez_NLChrissiebeez_NL Registered Users Posts: 1,295 Major grins
    edited September 27, 2007
    hi manbou!

If you could give us a somewhat more detailed description of why you want to take on dslr (better image quality, quicker response, speciallized lenzes?) and what your preffered shooting subjects are (landscapes, portraits, sports, nighttime shooting, nature etc.) and what your budget is ($1.000 dollar? $10.000 dollar? :D) we could help you out somewhat more. rolleyes1.gif
    Visit my website at christopherroos.smugmug.com
  • manboumanbou Registered Users Posts: 105 Major grins
    OK, here's the deal...
    Fair enough. I have been using a 7.1 megapixel Canon IXY and while it takes nice, sharp photos, I want to be able to get different kinds of effects, like better zoom, a wide-angle effect, high-speed action shots, depth of field (bokeh?) , capturing the effect of different kinds of light, and taking extreme close-ups.

I have played around with the various features on the IXY, like changing the ISO setting, using macro mode, and so forth, but it's just not enough to do what I want. Like, recently, I wanted to take a shot of my friend with the sun setting behind him. But with the IXY, either the sunset got washed out, or my friend got turned into a black sihouette.