Canon 40D + 17-85 IS lens

canon400dcanon400d Banned Posts: 2,826 Major grins
edited October 2, 2007 in Cameras
I have looked on the website of Fredmiranda.com and I have looked at the reviewes of the Canon 17-85mm lens. It has brilliant reviews but having said that, I note that a number of people all say the same thing. Distortion at 17mm to 24mm beyond that perfect in every respect. A number of people say there is an easy way around this problem. I have tried this lens as it has been offered to me at a reasonable price. However, I have experienced the same problem of slight distortion between 17 - 24mm. I would appreciate it so much if you can advise me on how I can correct this problem. As you know I am still learning day by day and am I douing the right thing by getting this lens with the lens I have. I have an extra lens to add to my proifile which is a Canon 50mm/F1.8mm a cheap lens which gives me wonderful results. I read the reviews on this lens before I purchased it and I am sure you will all know are very favourable
Kind Regards
Bob

Comments

• kdogkdog Administrators Posts: 11,681 moderator
    edited September 28, 2007
    You're probably talking about barrel distortion. That's easily fixed if you have the right tools. In Photoshop CS2, you can do this. Filter->Distort->Lens Correction. Adjust the Remove Distortion slider until it looks right. Simple as that.

Cheers,
    -joel
  • canon400dcanon400d Banned Posts: 2,826 Major grins
    kdog wrote:
    You're probably talking about barrel distortion. That's easily fixed if you have the right tools. In Photoshop CS2, you can do this. Filter->Distort->Lens Correction. Adjust the Remove Distortion slider until it looks right. Simple as that.

Cheers,
    -joel

Thanks ever so much for your reply. So I can only resolve this factor by going into Photoshop CS2. I will look into that right away.
    Thanks again
    Bob
  • kdogkdog Administrators Posts: 11,681 moderator