Options

Still learning and very confused!

SandyGSandyG Registered Users Posts: 18 Big grins
edited October 7, 2007 in Technique
Hi Dgrin,

I took long break from taking pics and getting to know my camera. (i'm really new at this) Now I'm more confused than ever and need advice.

I'll first start off by listing my equipment. My problem is, I have this equipment and have no idea it's potential.
Not sure what information you need off the lenses but I'll list what I see.

Canon EOS Rebel XT
430 ex Speedlight

Lenses: Quantaray 28-90 mm 1:3.5-5.6
Sigma 70-300mm 1:4-5.6
Sigma 500mm 1:7.2
That's pretty much it other than the lens that came with the camera.

I love shooting portraits (candids mainly) I'd love to get the best use out of my flash but have no idea how to do this.

Ohh-Ive bought a guide for my camera, I've even taken a basic photography class (which wasn't digital), I've watched instructional videos on youtube and everything has left me with more questions. Do you suggest private lessons? another book? video?

sorry for the long and possibly confusing post but i have no idea where to start:scratch

SandyG:D

Comments

• Options
    SamSam Registered Users Posts: 7,419 Major grins
    edited October 2, 2007
    Sandy,

What I would sugest is to provide your city, and state. Someone reading your post, and living near you might be available to help you out. If not, do a search for camera clubs in your area. Find other photographers..........most are very willing to help out.

Sam
  • Options
    SloYerRollSloYerRoll Registered Users Posts: 2,788 Major grins
    edited October 3, 2007
    Sam wrote:
    Sandy,

What I would sugest is to provide your city, and state. Someone reading your post, and living near you might be available to help you out. If not, do a search for camera clubs in your area. Find other photographers..........most are very willing to help out.

Sam
    15524779-Ti.gif
    Sam is right, most photogs are more than willing to help.