Options

Probably extremely newb question, but

MaestroMaestro Registered Users Posts: 5,395 Major grins
edited October 10, 2007 in Technique
a few months back I purchased a Sigma 500mm that I pair with with my Wimberely set-up. Except for the weight I have been very happy with the results. However, there a quite a few times when I have tough time getting the exposure (and this may be more a camera setting than lens question). In reading the information provided by Sigma it states that the lens should be used with the polarizing filter that came with the lens. I had originally taken it out when I noticed my images were a bit underexposed and replaced with the clear UV filter that also came with the lens.

My question is this: The filter is a drop-in and rotatable. What does rotating the polarizing filter do? I have checked for info at Sigma's site and I came up empty handed. I have never worked with filters before so any info would be appreciated or just a link to info. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    edited October 8, 2007
    Maestro wrote:
    a few months back I purchased a Sigma 500mm that I pair with with my Wimberely set-up. Except for the weight I have been very happy with the results. However, there a quite a few times when I have tough time getting the exposure (and this may be more a camera setting than lens question). In reading the information provided by Sigma it states that the lens should be used with the polarizing filter that came with the lens. I had originally taken it out when I noticed my images were a bit underexposed and replaced with the clear UV filter that also came with the lens.

My question is this: The filter is a drop-in and rotatable. What does rotating the polarizing filter do? I have checked for info at Sigma's site and I came up empty handed. I have never worked with filters before so any info would be appreciated or just a link to info. Thanks in advance.