I'm New, Be Harsh, Break Me In

PilznrPilznr Registered Users Posts: 262 Major grins
edited October 8, 2007 in The Dgrin Challenges
Hey Everyone, I'm new to DGrin, but I'm willing to take a beating. Here's a link to the gallery of photos I've taken so far for the "Craggy or Smooth."

205627191-M.jpg
EXIF

205626581-M-1.jpg
EXIF

205625217-M.jpg
EXIF

Here's a link to the gallery http://pilznr.smugmug.com/gallery/3609674#205627191
There's some other photos there, but not worthy ones.

Give me all your honest opinions and advice.
Thanks!
Matt Pilsner

Comments

• aktseaktse Registered Users Posts: 1,928 Major grins
    edited October 8, 2007
    [note: work monitor is not very good at all]

In general, I like the concept for LPS, but the exposures are very off by at least a few stops. They're very dark. Was this done on purpose? Also, it needs some sort of emotional pull to it... maybe approach the shoot like it will be used for an ad to sell popcorn -- a photo that makes the viewer want to dive right and consume handfuls of hot, buttery popcorn.

1. For the longest time, I thought it was some sort of fungus. Even after seeing some of the other shots, it still took me a few minutes to recognize that it's a popcorn kernel.

2. It looks like a shallow DOF and I believe you're trying to focus on the center kernel. I think it might work better if it's a little less centered.

3. I think is your best composition of the three, but could be improved more with popped kernals on one kernal, and more DOF. But it's still suffering from the exposure issues.

In general, you have a good start -- just go out and shoot some more. mwink.gifComing up with the idea is one of the hardest things to do and you have already got that done! clap.gif Good luck.
  • PaulThomasMcKeePaulThomasMcKee Registered Users Posts: 429 Major grins
    edited October 8, 2007
    #1 is definitely my fav. Cool Idea.