Options

Newbie - need help with lens setting

Lesley BrayLesley Bray Registered Users Posts: 143 Major grins
edited October 12, 2007 in Technique
Hello - I am new to photography and need answers to very basic questions.
I have a new lens - canon EFS 17-85mm.
I understand that when I take a photo I need to set the aperture - I use Aperture Priority.
What setting do I use on my lens?
There is a window on my lens that ranges from Macro to Infinity - and a ring where you zoom in and out - I understand the zooming ring.
I don't understand the window with the measurements in it.
Is this window used to calculate the distance I am from the subject I am focussing on? My last lens didn't have a window on it.
My lens is F4-5.6 - does this mean I can only use the setting 4.0, 4.5, 5.0 & 5.6 with this lens?
I have been to photography class but it went over my head.
Thank you in advance
Lesley

Comments

• Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited October 12, 2007
    I understand that when I take a photo I need to set the aperture - I use Aperture Priority.

I believe your settings are done in camera, not on the lens

There is a window on my lens that ranges from Macro to Infinity - and a ring where you zoom in and out - I understand the zooming ring.

I beliieve this is to show the distance you are focused at: nothing more.....my lenses have distnce lines

Is this window used to calculate the distance I am from the subject I am focussing on? My last lens didn't have a window on it.

I think so...........

My lens is F4-5.6 - does this mean I can only use the setting 4.0, 4.5, 5.0 & 5.6 with this lens?