Options

architecture photography help (suggestions?)

JaravissJaraviss Registered Users Posts: 148 Major grins
edited October 24, 2007 in Technique
i'm really excited about photographing architecture exteriors *and* interiors.
as an architect myself, i'd like to document my work.

i've googled a few books on the subject but am recieving various reviews from users...

i'm not looking for a book of some famous architectural photographers work.
but more of a "if you want an image like this...possibly use this type of setup"

etc.

does anyone have any suggestions?

in a pinch..i could learn as i go...but i'd like to have some background on what works.

attached is an image i've recently shot (first exterior image of a buiding with my new camera)

if you do have any book recommendations, please letme know.

Thanks!
-G

mondavicenteratucdavislj4.jpg
equipment:
canon rebel XTi
18-55mm lens
60mm macro lens
75-300mm telephoto lens
canon speelite 580 EXII

Comments

• Options
    kisikisi Registered Users Posts: 83 Big grins
    edited October 18, 2007
    not that i have any experience with architectural photography, but just from reading about it... i think a lot of architectural photography is done with large format cameras or tilt/shift lenses in order to show a true representation of the lines of the building and get rid of any converging lines coming from tilting the camera up to get the whole building in the shot.

this link seems to have a lot of good ideas/examples. it also has some tilt/shift examples in the perspective correction section. good luck thumb.gif
    Kimberly Salem Photography
    food, portraits and weddings :D
  • Options
    edited October 18, 2007
    kisi wrote: