"Distressed Portraits"

awmphotoawmphoto Registered Users Posts: 60 Big grins
edited October 23, 2007 in People
Both of these were taken mid morning and I processed them with CS2 using an action from adobe's website and some other minor adjustments, I'm hoping for some constructive criticism and also any comments you may have. Thanks for your time.

208948463-M.jpg

208948902-M.jpg
awmphoto.smugmug.com

Comments

• SystemSystem Registered Users Posts: 8,186 moderator
    edited October 22, 2007
    I like both of these, moreso the second one-

considering the light you shot in, I think they're great!-

but I'm no expert-

hopefully, you'll get some c&c from the good folks here at dgrin-
  • rundadarrundadar Registered Users Posts: 169 Major grins
    edited October 23, 2007
    my 2c
    awmphoto wrote:
    I'm hoping for some constructive criticism and also any comments you may have. Thanks for your time.

Well, the treatment is 'groovy' and all, but the reality refuses to go away :) And the reality is that those two fine fellows look happy and posing and not gloomy at all... In other words - this is a classical case of using PP for the sake of PP without paying too much attention to the actual photography.

What's my 'constructive' bit, then? But of course - here it is: wonders of PP are easy to get entangled in, but the incredible power of photography (as opposed to, say, painting) comes from it (photography) being a depiction of something real . PP is there to merely help enhance the sense of 'realness' (when needed).

All that is just MY opinion, and while we're at it - both shots are nice.

:)
    http://rundadar.smugmug.com

"...turtles are great speed enthusiasts, which is natural"

J.Cortazar

• awmphotoawmphoto Registered Users Posts: 60 Big grins
    edited October 23, 2007
    Gefillmore - Thanks for your response and I appreciate you taking the time to look.