The Big Picture? Zen-type Question!

KEDKED Registered Users Posts: 843 Major grins
edited October 25, 2007 in Sports
I'm rather new to serious sports photography (as some of you are well aware!). I'm not a pro, and my passion is shooting my kids' events although I shoot all the action at those events, whether my kids are involved or not. My question for seasoned shooters is this -- do you get to the point where, after shooting an entire game, you (a) have tons of great shots and (b) could go sit down over a beer and discuss the game as a fan? Or is it that even after the camera becomes an extension of your hand and brain, you are still so focused on the "photo op" that you never get the big picture? I don't want to lose out on (b) -- that would defeat the whole purpose!

Comments

• PineapplePhotoPineapplePhoto Registered Users Posts: 474 Major grins
    edited October 24, 2007
    I would get some good shots... but I am always second guessing myself (no chimping) thinking, I didn't get it and if I did, I need more.

I don't drink beer... but I do find myself mostly absorbed into getting the images and not minding the "big picture" all that much... it is a fine line though... I know when the game is a tie breaker, I know who the captains are, and who may get emotional... but all of that in order to get a good shot.
    Body: Canon 1D Mark II N | Canon 30D w/BG-E2 Flash: Canon 580EX II | Quantum T4d | Strobes & Monolights
    Glass: Sigma 70-200 f2.8 | Sigma 20 f1.8 | Canon 28-135 f3.5-5.6 IS USM
  • rwellsrwells Registered Users Posts: 6,084 Major grins
    edited October 24, 2007
    (a) hopefully yes, I'd have a bunch of great shots

(b) I don't drink beer, but I wouldn't have time to go to a bar anyway. Have to PP pictures, upload, etc... People want to see their pics within 24 hours of an event, and after that your sales will seriously slide. And depending on the event, 500 - 1200 pictures takes a while to go through.