New to photography...need advice

merbabymerbaby Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited October 30, 2007 in People
I just got a Canon Rebel....and i'm just learning how to shoot
pics of children and use the camera...
It is all a little overwhelming!!!!
Here is one of my first pics of my nephew...."boy with the longest lashes!"
I'd appreciate any and all advice.
(I also just learned how to convert color to b&w...)
Thankshttp://www.dgrin.com/images/smilies/bowdown.gif

Comments

• jeffreaux2jeffreaux2 Registered Users Posts: 4,762 Major grins
    edited October 30, 2007
    Welcome to the DGRIN people board!!

That is a pretty good shot, and definately long lashes!.

First I would say that the very best thing you can do at this stage is to learn the functions of your camera. THe Rebel XT is a very good one, and you should get many years of service from it. I personally shoot in the AV mode most often. This gives me control over what is in focus, and what isn't, but that particular mode is only one of many. I am sure you will eventually find what settings work best for your tastes and style of shooting.

As with any other type of photography, the knowledge of how the equipment operates is only a part of the photographic equation. Composition plays an part that is just as cricial to a good photograph. The best way to learn more about composition is to look deeply at other's photos and study what you like/ don't like. Often a different angle is all that is required to change a photo from snapshot to stunning.

As for this photo you posted, I like it very much, and only have two negative things to say.

1. It appears a little soft around the eyes. Be careful of where you focus. In portraits, the eyes are a good place to focus. I would turn off all but the center focus point. Focus, recompose, shoot.