Options

Crop and Resize in Photoshop

gman33gman33 Registered Users Posts: 279 Major grins
edited November 3, 2007 in Finishing School
Hi All

I am just getting into shooting local sports and all I hear is to crop, crop, crop. This is fine and I like this idea of cutting out the clutter.
My question is, if I crop the picture down, what is the best way to increase the image size so that it can be printed at a larger print size?

I am using CS3

Thanks for the help with the newb question

Ed
Ed G - Philadelphia, PA
http://ergphoto.smugmug.com

Comments

• Options
    OsirisPhotoOsirisPhoto Registered Users Posts: 367 Major grins
    edited October 31, 2007
    Hi Ed,

There are a few different software packages that will increase the image size by resampling and adding pixels.. photoshop being one of them. There's a load of info on re-sizing images both on Dgrin and elsewhere. One important point is that you can get huge images from standard cameras if your viewers are at a reasonable distance.

Best thing to do is get the image cropped right first time, though. thumb.gif Don't know about you, but I still shoot to make sure I get the subject(s) in the frame, even if it means having to do some serious cropping later.. but best practice is to zoom in to frame the subject properly. Of course, you need to have an idea of what you want from the shot to begin with, and a good lens helps.
  • Options
    jfriendjfriend Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited October 31, 2007
    gman33 wrote:
    Hi All

I am just getting into shooting local sports and all I hear is to crop, crop, crop. This is fine and I like this idea of cutting out the clutter.
    My question is, if I crop the picture down, what is the best way to increase the image size so that it can be printed at a larger print size?

I am using CS3

Thanks for the help with the newb question

Ed