FZ50, 8 or...

cyberdoscyberdos Registered Users Posts: 22 Big grins
edited November 7, 2007 in Cameras
Hello all. I've been lurking for a while and decided to finally join.
I currently have a SonyDSCW50 which I HATE.

I've been looking around for an SLR but right now I don't think I'm ready for one so my best option is to get a good point and shoot with good capabilities.

I have narrowed down my search to one camera which I believe suits my needs. That camera is the FZ50.

now, here comes the question. I'm a nOOb but am not oblivious to photography and how it works. Should I be looking at an FZ8 as a better option for me or should I go with the 50?

Did the search on that model and only found a couple of threads here but no real reviews.

Any other camera suggestions?

My criteria:
-Image stabilization
-Wide angle
-Quick startup & shots
-RAW capacity

I like to take pics of scenery, buildings. I'm an architect so I love to take angle shots of structures.
My passion is motorcycles (ADV member) so I like to take pics of places I go to.

All/any help is much appreciated.

Comments

• kini62kini62 Registered Users Posts: 441 Major grins
    edited November 2, 2007
    cyberdos wrote:
    Hello all. I've been lurking for a while and decided to finally join.
    I currently have a SonyDSCW50 which I HATE.

I've been looking around for an SLR but right now I don't think I'm ready for one so my best option is to get a good point and shoot with good capabilities.

You can get into some nice DLSRs for not much more than an Fz50, but obviously it's your choice:D
    cyberdos wrote:
    I have narrowed down my search to one camera which I believe suits my needs. That camera is the FZ50.

now, here comes the question. I'm a nOOb but am not oblivious to photography and how it works. Should I be looking at an FZ8 as a better option for me or should I go with the 50?

Did the search on that model and only found a couple of threads here but no real reviews.