Nikkor Lenses for Macro?

QarikQarik Registered Users Posts: 4,959 Major grins
edited November 6, 2007 in Holy Macro
What do you reccomend? I am looking to spend $300-400.

Thanks
D700, D600
14-24 24-70 70-200mm (vr2)
85 and 50 1.4
45 PC and sb910 x2
http://www.danielkimphotography.com

Comments

• teamracephotosteamracephotos Registered Users Posts: 492 Major grins
    edited November 3, 2007
    No Expert but...
    I am new to Macro myself... just been learning the past couple of months.
    But... I did find a 105 f2.8 (non VR) used at a local camera shop for around $200.00. I have really injoyed it. Combine it with some extension tubes, and you will have fun looking at a whole new world. I also have a 50mm f1.4 that I use but with the tubes added you have to get really close. I am using a D200 with both len's I have to manual focus. I have found it easyer to focus by moveing closer or further away from the subject. Good Luck... Next time post some pictures. MM
    “I love not man the less, but Nature more.”
    — Lord Byron
  • SkippySkippy Registered Users Posts: 12,075 Major grins
    edited November 4, 2007
    Qarik wrote:

Thanks

Sorry Qarik, I'm a Canon Girl through and through :D

Hopefully some Nikonian will help you out here .... Skippy :D
    Skippy (Australia) - Moderator of "HOLY MACRO" and "OTHER COOL SHOTS"

ALBUM http://ozzieskip.smugmug.com/

:skippy Everyone has the right to be stupid, but some people just abuse the privilege :dgrin
  • pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,703 moderator
    edited November 4, 2007
    The 60mm micro Nikkor has been around for some time, but is said to be as sharp as a razor.

Tamron makes a 90mm macro, and Sigma makes 105mm macro = both are very good lenses, and can probably be found used in your price range.
    Pathfinder - www.pathfinder.smugmug.com

Moderator of the Technique Forum and Finishing School on Dgrin
  • QarikQarik Registered Users Posts: 4,959 Major grins
    edited November 4, 2007