Options

Recommended workflow and software for Mac

eichert12eichert12 Registered Users Posts: 100 Major grins
edited November 5, 2007 in Finishing School
What are the Mac users in this forum using for post processing your images? I'm currently using iPhoto and while it's worked ok for me, I'm not thrilled with it. I recently started shooting in RAW and its a bit of a mystery to me how iPhoto treats RAW images.

My current workflow goes like this:

1) Download images from my camera / memory card into iPhoto.
2) Go through my images one at a time and adjust the temperature / tint / exposure
3) Bump up the sharpness
4) Crop images as necessary

What software are you using, and what's your workflow?

Cheers,
Steve

Comments

• Options
    arodneyarodney Registered Users Posts: 2,005 Major grins
    edited November 4, 2007
    Adobe Lightroom.

iPhoto really sucks IMHO. Be careful with all the versions of multiple sizes it creates in it's so called database. When you have something like Lightroom, all you really want to import is the high rez versions, toss the rest.
    Andrew Rodney
    Author "Color Management for Photographers"
    http://www.digitaldog.net/
  • Options
    DavidTODavidTO Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited November 4, 2007
    iPhoto is awesome for anyone who just wants to manage their snapshots, and don't want to think about it.

For anyone on this forum, meaning anyone with loftier aspirations, it does suck.

Lightroom. thumb.gif

But if I was only going to get one app, it would be Photoshop. Lightroom is great, but it's not a complete image editing app.
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,699 moderator
    edited November 4, 2007
    I have Lightroom, but find that Photoshop CS3 and Bridge are what I really usene_nau.gif

I find I need the ability to do selections with masks and localized curves to create images that match my vision.