Opinions from those that matter

PoseidonPoseidon Registered Users Posts: 504 Major grins
edited November 8, 2007 in Digital Darkroom
I will be replacing my dual 20" monitors in a couple of months, I want a single large screen instead. What would be your choice in a 24, 27, or 30" monitor and why?

Thanks for all the help!

-Mike

Oh, priced less then or the same as the Apple 30" display.... That might help too.
Mike LaPorte
Perfect Pix

Comments

• gusgus Registered Users Posts: 16,209 Major grins
    edited November 4, 2007
    Poseidon wrote:
    I will be replacing my dual 20" monitors in a couple of months, I want a single large screen instead. What would be your choice in a 24, 27, or 30" monitor and why?

Thanks for all the help!

-Mike

Oh, priced less then or the same as the Apple 30" display.... That might help too.
    Im no expert however i just did a lot of research on 24" units on the net & BenQ LCD FP241W had great reviews from what i read.
  • PoseidonPoseidon Registered Users Posts: 504 Major grins
    edited November 4, 2007
    Thanks Gus, I'll check that one out.
    Mike LaPorte
    Perfect Pix
  • cabbeycabbey Registered Users Posts: 1,053 Major grins
    edited November 4, 2007
    wouldn't say I matter, but if you want an opinion....
    Personally, I'd start my search with whatever samsung is offering in LCDs now. I've not looked in a while, but the last two times I looked their screens had the balance between cost and quality that seemed to hit the sweet spot for me. (I've got 2x 244t here on my G5, and the wife now enjoy's my old 213t on her mini.)

A quick look turns up a new 30" syncmaster with 2560x1600 resolution and glowing reviews. It's $500 cheaper than the 30" Apple HD Cinema display, but offers the same resolution. Looks to have a higher contrast ratio and a better response time as well.
    SmugMug Sorcerer - Engineering Team Champion for Commerce, Finance, Security, and Data Support
    http://wall-art.smugmug.com/