Trying to decide....

macmasseymacmassey Registered Users Posts: 65 Big grins
edited November 8, 2007 in Cameras
If I can afford a Canon EOS 5D, is there any reason to purchase it over the Nikon D300? And what about the Canon EOS 40D? I am an amateur photographer who is HUNGRY for better equipment. This would be my first SLR purchase. I have shot the heck out of my point and shoot Panasonic Lumix FZ20, using manual settings and trying hard to learn. I am eager to get a higher end camera in the SLR family but want to bypass the Canon Rebel level cameras. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,079 moderator
    edited November 6, 2007
    macmassey wrote:
    If I can afford a Canon EOS 5D, is there any reason to purchase it over the Nikon D300? And what about the Canon EOS 40D? I am an amateur photographer who is HUNGRY for better equipment. This would be my first SLR purchase. I have shot the heck out of my point and shoot Panasonic Lumix FZ20, using manual settings and trying hard to learn. I am eager to get a higher end camera in the SLR family but want to bypass the Canon Rebel level cameras. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

All of the above are amazing tools in the right hands. What you need to do is decide what qualities are important to you, as well as any particular lens ranges that might help in the decision.

Look at your current photos, and try to see any patterns in your shooting style. Remember what you found troublesome or impossible with your current equipment.

Try to give us as much information about your desires photographically, and we can better answer your question.
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • ArvanArvan Registered Users Posts: 888 Major grins
    edited November 7, 2007
    if i hade a chanse to buy a new camera again i would buy some canon model.

Why?.