Options

Lighting Help????

anderson_paulanderson_paul Registered Users Posts: 59 Big grins
edited November 15, 2007 in Technique
Hi all I was just wondering I'm still new to studio Lighting and I'm trying to learn more. before I go buy any lights, and Wanted to know with so many books, and websites, and video's on lighting which are your favorites. any info would be helpful thanks.
Some men see things as they are an say "Why?"
I dream things that never were and say
"Why Not?"

Comments

• Options
    jcdilljcdill Registered Users Posts: 225 Major grins
    edited November 13, 2007
    THE Lighting book
    The most important book you need is Light: Scienc and Magic.
    JC Dill - Equine Photographer, San Francisco & San Jose http://portfolio.jcdill.com
    "Chance favors the prepared mind." ~ Ansel Adams
    "Light thinks it travels faster than anything but it is wrong. No matter how fast light travels, it finds the darkness has always got there first, and is waiting for it." ~ Terry Pratchett
  • Options
    gusgus Registered Users Posts: 16,209 Major grins
    edited November 13, 2007
    Watch the movie SinCity if you have not already seen it. Look at how the light is used thoughout the whole movie..people are side lit..backlit & still have shadow that compliments the character. Obviously they dont stop & mention how its all done but it will show you how the real pro's light a scene/person.

In the least you will see just how far you can go with light. The best cinematography i have ever seen.

That said it aint everyones cup of tea. Its a Tarantino show so be ready for some shocks though rolleyes1.gif
  • Options
    frgfrg Registered Users Posts: 583 Major grins
    edited November 15, 2007
    www.strobist.com not studio lights as such, but pretty much everything you would want to know about small flash as an alternative to studio lights
  • Options
    SloYerRollSloYerRoll Registered Users Posts: 2,788 Major grins
    edited November 15, 2007