Options

Using old film lenses on DSLR

RaphyRaphy Registered Users Posts: 431 Major grins
edited November 25, 2007 in Technique
I'm a noob and I'm just learning, but i can't seem to get a straight answer on this topic. I want to get some older film lenses to use on my D40 dslr. I know for a fact that the D40 will accept any Nikon (or nikon mount) lens from 1959 and on... however, things such as autofocus and exposure will need to be adjusted manually as they will not meter correctly.

So my question is, since i'll be setting the apature and shutter speed manually... i'm dealing with two things that can control the apature... 1 is the camera and the 2 is the lens...

I can set the apature in the camera, but what do i set the lens at ? do i leave it wide open or the same as i set the camera or what ?...

or do i do it the other way, do i control the apature via the apature ring on the lens ? if so, what do i set my camera apature at ?

and i guess the only way to control shutter speed is via the camera manual setting...

am i missing something here ??? :dunno :scratch :dunno :scratch :dunno

Thanks for the help ! :thumb

Comments

• Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,699 moderator
    edited November 22, 2007
    Raphy,

As you said, Non AF lenses will NOT autofocus so you will need to focus the lens manually.

Most of the older Nikon lenses will not automatically stop down when you press the shutter, and thus you will have to manually close the aperture from the viewing aperture used to look through the viewfinder, and the shooting aperture - the aperture chosen for the proper exposure at the instant of shutter release.