Questions from a noob

bsquaredbsquared Registered Users Posts: 28 Big grins
edited December 1, 2007 in Cameras
Hello all,
I am a noob to this forum and to photography as well, and was hoping some folks here could give me a hand with a couple of questions that I have, and maybe some advice to help me avoid some pitfalls you may have encountered.
About me, I am 32 year old returning Electrical Engineering student with about a year left to go at Arizona State and have been a member at ADVrider since 2005. I ride my motorcycle nearly every day and end up doing a lot of exploring that way. I enjoy taking pictures of the people and places I see on my travels and I would like to get into some of the more artsy-fartsy aspects of photography.
After having a couple of p/s cameras I bought a Minota Dimage 7hi in 2004, which allowed a little bit more creativity in how I took photos and overall I was very happy with it…… but mine was one of those that had a bad sony ccd which of course did not crop up until after sony bought minolta and after waiting 4 months for them to replace the ccd, I received a letter saying they would only offer me a $300 credit towards a new camera. They had nothing like the 7hi so angrily I accepted a dsc-T9. The sony is a good p/s camera but lately I have found myself wanting something with more control. So I have been thinking about getting a DSLR.

Information I have garnered thus far:
  1. Glass is much more important than the body
  2. Skill is much more important than the glass or the body
  3. It seems to me that the prices of consumer dslrs have pretty much negated price as a reason to get a prosumer camera like the 7hi instead of a dslr
  4. I will likely end up spending much more on glass than the body so choose a body that fits the glass I want
  5. I know I want something with the capability of using AA’s due to the fact I may be away from wall outlets on trips
Questions I have: