More Hockey.. youth tournament

cornerstonecornerstone Registered Users Posts: 18 Big grins
edited November 30, 2007 in Sports
I'm still a newb at shooting hockey, but I just finished (actually last day images are still loading :) ) my second year doing a local tournament.

Please feel free to take a look and critique. the images are just sent up straight with no retouching or anything, so I know there are a number (ok alot!) of bad shots, but hopefully enough good ones along the way.

There are 2 rinks at this location and both always have a game going on, so it was a very busy and long weekend. I'm set up with a 24" Acer 1900x1200 monitor that I run slide shows from a laptop of the last game shot (I download on my way to the other rink).

The 2 rinks have a bit of difference in lighting, so I settled with manual settings of 1/320 @ f2.8 on the one rink and 1/400 @ f4 on the other (guess which rink I like better!) both at 1600 ISO.

For equipment I have a Canon 30D, 70-200 2.8 and 17-55 2.8 IS, (shorter lens basically only used at end of Championship games when I can go on the ice and get close and take team photos) I stick the 70-200 on a monopod, no head just straight.

Any pictures ordered I run through Neat Image to filter out 1600 ISO noise and then make any WB, USM cropping and other adjustments. (3 day delay is a life saver :) )

Please take a look, there's really only the 2 tournaments on the site besides some playing around.

http://cornerstoneawards.smugmug.com/

And when everything finally uploads you can check out the trophies in some of the Championship games, I made those too :) . Also please feel free to comment on the site..I just redid it and would appreciate any advise.

Thanks for looking.

Comments

• gusgus Registered Users Posts: 16,209 Major grins
    edited November 30, 2007