Options

Ratio

cyberdoscyberdos Registered Users Posts: 22 Big grins
edited December 1, 2007 in Technique
I'm a nOOb and curious to know what the average ratio of pics is for you all to capture a great shot.

I find that out of every 30 or so shots I grab a winner.

This ratio, IMO, sucks but I'm still learning.

Comments

• Options
    Mr. 2H2OMr. 2H2O Registered Users Posts: 427 Major grins
    edited November 29, 2007
    I get about 75% keepers but that is after shooting about 10K pictures a year. When I started out, I didn't have a discerning eye for composition or exposure, or even settings. Many of my pics are events where I am trying to capture memories for the people attending - I had to practice a LOT to find out what people like and what I like.

I was also helped along by taking many test shots in different situations to learn how to manipulate the cameras I own to achieve my vision for the shots I was taking. Some concepts just don't work out after viewing them and others really please me.

Just keep on shooting and critiquing your own photos so you will be able to recognize when something comes together in your environment that you will love to see "snapped".

Also, keep on filing through these forums and feel free to ask questions - its possible someone is taking shots that you really like and they are happy to share how they pull it together.

- Mike
    Olympus E-30
    IR Modified Sony F717
    http://2H2OPhoto.smugmug.com
  • Options
    LiquidAirLiquidAir Registered Users Posts: 1,751 Major grins
    edited November 29, 2007
    About 10% of what I shoot gets deleted up front (either in camera or right after download).

Another 10-20% of my shots get deleted after the final product is delivered.

When I shoot an event or a portrait session, I usually show around 50% of my shots to the interested parties. Of that, maybe 5% make it to print.

Around 1% of my shots are good enough to be shown to the general public as representative of my work.