Options

Best LR 1.1 Reference Book

jdryan3jdryan3 Registered Users Posts: 1,353 Major grins
edited December 18, 2007 in Finishing School
I am looking for a decent book to help me transition from CS2 & ACR3 to LR1.1 & ACR4.1. A good LR workflow and update on ACR4.1 functions is specifcally what I am looking for. I have some travel and vacation time over the holidays, so I want to dig into it. The Luminous-Landscape stuff won't work since I will be traveling.

I started playing with LR1.1 right when it came out in June, but didn't want to just plunge in and figure it out if it wasn't a best practice (there's a loaded phrase) and end up with a mess. So I shelved it and continued using Bridge and ACR the same way as I have for the last few years (when all you have is a hammer...).

I worked my way thru ACR 4.1 at a top level, but have been slammed at work since August and not really played with all the new tools (the new curve tool is cool though).

I looked at Kevin Ames book but the reviews have been lukewarm as to an integrated workflow explanation. I have read a couple of Scott Kelby's and Martin Evening's non-LR books, Rob Sheppard's older ACR book, and Bruce Fraser's Real World Camera RAW.

I have been waiting, but it doesn't seem Peachpit Press is going to release either Kelby's or Evening's LR 1.0 books in an updated format anytime soon. And I REALLY hate the idea of downloading PDF updates and figuring out where they fit into the earlier versions, especially considering what I hear about the differences between LR 1.0 and LR1.1 (and updates). :confused

Comments, ideas? Should I just :stfu , stop stomping my feet & holding my breath - suck it up and go for the old 1.0 books??? :bash
"Don't ask me what I think of you, I might not give the answer that you want me to. Oh well."
-Fleetwood Mac

Comments

• Options
    arodneyarodney Registered Users Posts: 2,005 Major grins
    edited December 1, 2007