Which sub-$500 Macro for XTi?

RhuarcRhuarc Registered Users Posts: 1,464 Major grins
edited December 22, 2007 in Cameras
So I got approval from the boss (aka wife) to get a macro lens to add to my aresenal for Christmas/birthday this year. I need to keep it under $500, and I would like to try to get the most for my money that I can. I'll list a few lenses that I was looking at, but I am defenitley open to other suggestions! I am open to third party lenses if anyone feels that I can get more bang for my buck!

I'm also kind of new to macro, so if anyone could reccommend what focal length that would great! I'm kind of looking in the 100mm range right now. I'm actually probbly leaning towards the Canon 100mm at this point based off of reviews that I have seen.

$435 - Canon 100mm 2.8 Macro

$240 - Canon 50mm 2.5 Macro

$400 - Sigma 105mm 2.8 Macro

$269 - Sigma 50mm 2.8 Macro

$400 - Tamron 90mm 2.8 Macro

Again, if anyone has other suggestions please chime in!
Thanks everyone!

EDIT: Added the Tamron 90mm

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,079 moderator
    edited December 6, 2007
    Also look at the Tamron SP 90mm f/2.8 Di.

90/100mm is about as short as I recommend because any shorter and you may have a problem getting illumination into the subject field at suitable angles.
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • RhuarcRhuarc Registered Users Posts: 1,464 Major grins
    edited December 6, 2007
    Thanks for the suggestions Ziggy! I added the Tamron to the list above. I was kind of thinking along the same lines that I don't want to go much shorter than 100mm. That kind of limits the lenses that are in my price range. Anything much longer than 100mm tends to be quite a bit more.
  • Tee WhyTee Why Registered Users Posts: 2,390 Major grins
    edited December 6, 2007
    I think all current macro lenses are optically excellent. I doubt you can tell the difference among comparable macros on prints.