Options

Photoshop question

KTBoom2006-E510KTBoom2006-E510 Registered Users Posts: 437 Major grins
edited December 16, 2007 in Finishing School
I am very new to Photography, but I am taking it very serious. I hope to have a business going by the end of next year. Anyways, my question is

How do I put a different background in a picture?
Example: I have a friend who took her kids to a photographer in which the kdis were just in front of a black background sheet. Somehow after everything was done, it looks as if an old city is behind them.

Is there anyway to do that with my computer without it looking fake?

Any help would be great! Thanks
~Katie~
:barb

http://www.kc1stphotography.com

2 Canon Rebel XSi
Tamron 70-200mm f2.8
2 Canon 14-55mm
Canon 55-250mm f4.0
Canon 580EX
Canon 580EX II

Comments

• Options
    kelsowkelsow Registered Users Posts: 98 Big grins
    edited December 14, 2007
    I have been using photoshop since 3.0
    The best way to learn is to take a course or 2 but if that isn't an option,
    do what I did and search on line for tutorials like these, http://www.kirupa.com/motiongraphics/index.htm

There are many out there and with a lot of practise it will become easier.

Good luck
  • Options
    jfriendjfriend Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited December 14, 2007
    I am very new to Photography, but I am taking it very serious. I hope to have a business going by the end of next year. Anyways, my question is

Example: I have a friend who took her kids to a photographer in which the kdis were just in front of a black background sheet. Somehow after everything was done, it looks as if an old city is behind them.

It is all quite doable on your computer, particularly when you've pre-planned the shot and used a plain background. There is a fair amount of technique involved in making it look real, but it is something you can learn. I would suggest three things: