Options

tripod legs for Really Right Stuff BH 40 Head

ZmomZmom Registered Users Posts: 45 Big grins
edited January 23, 2008 in Accessories
I'd like some recommendations for tripod legs for a new tripod setup I'm considering purchasing.

I have a D70 with the 18-70mm DX and 55-200 DX kit lenses. My dream lens (which I believe I have to earn by taking better pictures with what I have, and I'd better hurry since it is getting more expensive), is the 70-200mm AF-S VR 2.8.

My tripods are the one my dad gave me when I graduated from college, along with my first camera (ok - 20 years ago!), and a SLIK U8000 , about $40, which I bought a few years ago without really knowing what I was doing.

Most of the time I take social pictures (parties, outings, family get-togethers, night shots) but occasionally I take nature/outdoor photos (want to do more of that thus the dream lens). At a recent family gathering in Florida, did some beach photos and found another experience of frustrating tripod and blurry images (it was very windy, I was using remote control so I could be in the shot, unruly crowd!, no time to fiddle with the pan-tilt head and get the adjustments correct, tripod unstable on sand, camera kept drooping on head, everybody was singing) and decided I need a better support system.

I've also done a bit of close-up photography (shells, coins) so would like to be able to shoot straight down.

Have scanned the forums and read the obligatory article byThom and believe I'd like the Really Right Stuff BH-40 ball head with the lever quick release B2-40LR. I'll get the L bracket for the D70.

If I was even richer I'd get the Gitzmo 2530 or 2540 and be done with it - but the set-up is already $375 without the L-bracket! and I'm not sure about 3 sections vs 4 sections, aluminum vs carbon fiber, center post or no center post. Forum experts also like the Bogen-Manfrotto 3021PRO.