Please Help Me Decide!!!

shannonecshannonec Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited December 23, 2007 in Cameras
Okay, I am new to digital slrs but I really want to buy one. I am currently using a cheap Kodak Easyshare and want something better. I love taking photos and most are of my son. I have been looking at getting the XTI and now just need opinions on lenses! I will be getting the 50mm 1:8 for sure but heard the standard lenses..I think it is the 18-55 is no good. So I am going to buy just the body and then a good standard lenses. Most photos are indoors as well so I have to consider that. Any opinions?

Comments

• ShizamShizam Registered Users Posts: 418 Major grins
    edited December 20, 2007
    shannonec wrote:
    Okay, I am new to digital slrs but I really want to buy one. I am currently using a cheap Kodak Easyshare and want something better. I love taking photos and most are of my son. I have been looking at getting the XTI and now just need opinions on lenses! I will be getting the 50mm 1:8 for sure but heard the standard lenses..I think it is the 18-55 is no good. So I am going to buy just the body and then a good standard lenses. Most photos are indoors as well so I have to consider that. Any opinions?

The 18-55 is actually a not-terrible lens for how much it costs, I'd go ahead and say that for the around $100 zoom area its a fantastic bargain. And I'm a huge gearwhore, so thats sayin' something :) Of course, if you had $500 to spend on extra gear I wouldn't touch the 18-55 w/a 10' monopod, get a 17-85. And a 430ex, once you go external flash, you never go back.

Sam
    Ever hear of Optimus Zoom? Me either.
    SmugMug iOS Sorcerer
  • ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,079 moderator
    edited December 20, 2007
    The Canon XTi and a Canon EF 50mm, f1.8 would make a nice starting combination for larger rooms indoors or many outdoor opportunities.