Rookie looking for comments

RBrogenRBrogen Registered Users Posts: 1,518 Major grins
edited January 8, 2008 in Landscapes
Hi everyone,

Well as the title suggest I am a rookie at photography but I have the bug, but bad. I bought my first Canon SLR 4 years ago (Digital Rebel) when my son was about to be born and have been hooked ever since. I just upgraded to the Canon Rebel XTi and I have some fairly nice pieces of glass (and looking for some more).

I've taken some photos that friends and family say "Hey that looks terrific." and while I value their opinions, I wanted to put my work out for some experienced eyes to critique. Here are a couple of my latest pictures, the first was taken at EPCOT in Novemenber and the second was taken at my brother-n-laws wedding. I look forward to hearing your input.

I couldn't find the recommended size for pictures so I resized these to 800xNNN. Thanks in advance.

I took this at the Chinese Pavilion at EPCOT using my Canon EF 28-135mm. Funny thing was that I didn't realize that there was a frog in my photo until I got home because I snapped the picture quick.
img_2723dgrin.jpg

My son was playing in the trees and I took this with my standard 75x300mm. I prefer to catch people looking natural than having a posed picture most times.
img_6042dgrin.jpg
Randy Brogen, CPP
www.brogen.com

Member: PPA , PPANE, PPAM & NAPP

Comments

• David L. MegaheyDavid L. Megahey Registered Users Posts: 85 Big grins
    edited January 8, 2008
    Great shots! I too just came on aboard. Welcome!
    :scratch When in doubt....SHOOT IT!!!
  • anwmn1anwmn1 Registered Users Posts: 3,469 Major grins
    edited January 8, 2008
    Well there is not much wrong with the shots for starters. thumb.gif

Something you should start working on is composition. Both of these shots the main subject is almost dead center in the picture. To be a little more creative use the 'rule of thirds'. Here is what I would have done: