Options

Seeking basic help with Nikon D40

jenna16jenna16 Registered Users Posts: 30 Big grins
edited January 13, 2008 in Technique
Hi,

I have a Nikon D40, and I love it usually. I really bought it for the lack of shutter lag and I have been using it on automatic aperture priority. However, sometimes it seems to get overwhelmed by light - things come out overexposed when it's sunny. I am using it on aperture priority because of some issue I was having with reds (which I actually can no longer recall), and it solved that issue, but why the "haze"?

Any help would be most appreciated. I am not a pro, but I'm willing to take the camera off auto if I know what to do...I do get what a shutter speed is and what an aperture is, but not much more than that.

Some examples are here - please ignore the Olympus shots - that's my point and shoot I take to the beach.

http://greenstein.smugmug.com/gallery/4048375#P-1-15

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,911 moderator
    edited January 11, 2008
    I could not find the EXIF for this shot, but if one of your problem images is the barn with horses in the foreground:

http://greenstein.smugmug.com/photos/235744028-M.jpg

I suggest that you are shooting into the sun and your subjects are backlit. The sun must have been just out of the shot in the upper right. This type of glare reduces contrast and, in addition to the backlighting of the subjects, renders the images as less than optimal.

A longer hood, even improvised, might have helped. A different camera position or different time of day would have likely produced much better results.
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • Options
    AzzaroAzzaro Registered Users Posts: 5,643 Major grins
    edited January 11, 2008