Options

To be you or to be me? That is the real question.

3n-out3n-out Registered Users Posts: 155 Major grins
edited January 16, 2008 in Finishing School
First off I want to add this first and foremost this is a topic that for some reason I can't get off my mind. By posting it I'm either gonna shot myself in the foot or make some sense And it is short of digital theropy for me so -heh - here goes.

First a little about myself and what I do - I'm a seasoned IT pro of 25 years. Yeah got into the biz of computers way back in 81' and have been in the industry for many years. You know, the kind that has all those capital letters after their name. LOL - like that ever meant anything. :)

I've been taking photo's since 78' since I got my first camera a Canon AE-1 - which I still own and still works like new. Shot for the high school news paper/yearbook. Spent my Highschool years growing up in England were my father was stationed in the Military at Lakenheath.

Got my first "Real" SLR a Canon T-90 in 80'-81'. I never developed wet, just used the corner drug store - or the cheapest place I could find back then for my prints. Never made a dime of my photo's until I shot a soccer game last year and some how managed to pocket about eleven bucks.

I've been lucky enough to have been around and had access to Photoshop since pretty much its inception. It always intrigued me and have used it for 15 years at least. I guess the point I'm getting to is the art of it all. And this is what is really urking me as I read all these forums.

The way I see it Photography is an Art - like Photoshop. With introduction of digital cameras came digital post processing. Photoshop was around way before the standard Joe could even afford a digital camera mind you. The "Pro's" if you will have been using digital cameras much longer then the standard Joes - therefore they are Photography Artists first and foremost. They had to learn and are still learning Photoshop.