Annoying newbie question..

helkathelkat Registered Users Posts: 25 Big grins
edited January 16, 2008 in Sports
I need an answer to a stupid, annoying newbie (me) question.

I am a total newbie to dSLRs. I have a Rebel XT and a 20D. When I took pics of my DDs first indoor soccer practice, I didn't like how most of them turned out.
I know it is user error. I was using a Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8 lens. Was that totally a bad lens choice since it is a macro lens? I should also mention that I was mainly using auto mode.

Even this photo taken with a 70-300mm lens at 160mm is crappy. Tell me how to improve. Shoot in Tv mode???
2193520030_06daf497f8_b.jpg

I am in the process of really trying to figure out my cameras and hope to know some of the *basics* before next practice!

Thanks so much!

Comments

• ShamguessShamguess Registered Users Posts: 88 Big grins
    edited January 16, 2008
    post some samples
    I recommend that you post a few samples. That way those with experience can give you some advice on what to do better next time. Don't worry, most folks will be kind. Since you were indoors, there's a good chance the lighting was bad. Also, 70mm may be a bit too "short" to capture the action unless it happens right in front of you.
  • jonh68jonh68 Registered Users Posts: 2,711 Major grins
    edited January 16, 2008
    More samples would be great.

I also suggest sitting on the floor when shooting little ones.
  • helkathelkat Registered Users Posts: 25 Big grins
    edited January 16, 2008
    jonh68 wrote:
    More samples would be great.

I also suggest sitting on the floor when shooting little ones.
    Thanks for the tip!

Am I correct in assuming that I should be shooting in AI Servo mode (which I wasn't) next time?

Here ya go! Please be kind...I have no clue what I am doing, but I am reading everything I can!

2192718817_4cf5eb7ba2_b.jpg

2192718887_70aa215997_o.jpg

2192716477_1a77eacc55_b.jpg
  • bikingbetsbikingbets Registered Users Posts: 160 Major grins