First Post in Holy Macro

IcebearIcebear Registered Users Posts: 4,015 Major grins
edited January 22, 2008 in Holy Macro
I've been lurking around Holy Macro for a few months. I'm in awe of the talent here. Got bored today and started playing around. All pp on this done in LR. Not really a macro image, but a serious crop. I know it isn't much of a photo technically, but it was fun.

I'm thinking of diving into the macro pool, and am looking at the Sigma 150 2.8. What do y'all think of that lens? This image was taken with the Nikon 18-70 at 70mm, f11, 1/250. SB800.

245772674-XL.jpg
John :
Natural selection is responsible for every living thing that exists.
D3s, D500, D5300, and way more glass than the wife knows about.

Comments

• RBrogenRBrogen Registered Users Posts: 1,518 Major grins
    edited January 21, 2008
    Hey IceBear, cool pic...I'm new to macro as well but can tell you it is WICKED ADDICTIVE!! lol
    Randy Brogen, CPP
    www.brogen.com

Member: PPA , PPANE, PPAM & NAPP
  • leaforteleaforte Registered Users Posts: 1,948 Major grins
    edited January 22, 2008
    I like it. Sort of reminds me of a basketball player, leaping up out of water, and going for a slam dunk! Combines water and motion nicely. Macro shots are always so fun to look at.
    Growing with Dgrin

• Lord VetinariLord Vetinari Registered Users Posts: 15,901 Major grins
    edited January 22, 2008
    Looks good to me - result of dipping your toe in ?
    Unlesss you have a very specific reason for wanting a longer macro lens I'd stick to one around 100mm (canon 100, Nikon 105, Tamron 90, sigma 105) they are just easier to handle.

Brian V.
  • SkippySkippy Registered Users Posts: 12,075 Major grins
    edited January 22, 2008
    Icebear wrote: