Options

Posting what you shot to the Forum without loss of Quality.

graflexTomgraflexTom Registered Users Posts: 55 Big grins
edited March 18, 2005 in Technique
Ok I am new to digital. I shoot a Raw image. I see a clear but photo That needs adjustment. I get it sharp Clean and convert it to a tiff or Jpeg. I reduce the size and post it and suddenly it suddenly looks like Crap. Sharpness gone focus looks bad. So I go back to the full sized Tiff It is still great. The RAW photo IS crisp. So what the hsck happened. Why does it look like I had the shakes or blured vision on the post.

I have a Picture I want to add here I will do so when I get it fixed. I have tried three different times and everytime I preview it, it sucks.

So how are you posting here and not losing the Image quality.

Comments

• Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited March 17, 2005
    graflexTom wrote:
    Ok I am new to digital. I shoot a Raw image. I see a clear but photo That needs adjustment. I get it sharp Clean and convert it to a tiff or Jpeg. I reduce the size and post it and suddenly it suddenly looks like Crap. Sharpness gone focus looks bad. So I go back to the full sized Tiff It is still great. The RAW photo IS crisp. So what the hsck happened. Why does it look like I had the shakes or blured vision on the post.

I have a Picture I want to add here I will do so when I get it fixed. I have tried three different times and everytime I preview it, it sucks.

are you attaching or are you linking from a web server or photo host like smugmug.com?

for web display, i handle it myself after processing the fullsize file, i'll then resize to 800px on the longest side, and *then* apply sharpnening to taste. save as jpg.

good luck
  • Options
    ruttrutt Registered Users Posts: 6,511 Major grins
    edited March 17, 2005
    Another tip - make sure it's sRGB and within gamut. You can do this by converting in and out of CMYK just once.
    If not now, when?