I'm new to Flowers with a macro - Going to Longwood Gardens.

PilznrPilznr Registered Users Posts: 262 Major grins
edited January 30, 2008 in Holy Macro
Hey all, I'm going to Longwood Gardens in PA next week. I just got my macro lens 2 weeks ago, so I'm not a pro with it yet.

I'm interested in any input or techniques that anyone can offer for photographing flowers. I'll obviously be photographing a million flowers in a public setting. Probably mostly indoors with natural light and glasshouses.

Are there any filters that you've found helpful? Polarized, ND, etc?

Is a flash a bad idea?

I have a Canon XTi, Canon 100mm Macro, 18-55mm, 75-300mm, and 430EX Flash. All of the lenses have a UV Filter, and I have a Circ Polarizer filter.

Thanks in Advance!

Comments

• SkippySkippy Registered Users Posts: 12,075 Major grins
    edited January 28, 2008
    Pilznr wrote:
    Hey all, I'm going to Longwood Gardens in PA next week. I just got my macro lens 2 weeks ago, so I'm not a pro with it yet.

I'm interested in any input or techniques that anyone can offer for photographing flowers. I'll obviously be photographing a million flowers in a public setting. Probably mostly indoors with natural light and glasshouses.

Are there any filters that you've found helpful? Polarized, ND, etc?

Is a flash a bad idea?

I have a Canon XTi, Canon 100mm Macro, 18-55mm, 75-300mm, and 430EX Flash. All of the lenses have a UV Filter, and I have a Circ Polarizer filter.

Thanks in Advance!

A flash is your friend when doing MACRO, if you can difuse it do so,
    to avoid harsh highlights.

If you have heaps of light without having to use a flash then that is a big bonus.
    Usually your so close your in your own light or there is hardly any light available between you and your subject.

Water droplets on petals, imperfections can sometimes make a shot.
    Interesting angles, that sort of thing.

Have fun, shoot till your hearts content thumb.gif .... Skippy :D