I'm completely new to the hobby and could use some help

TaDaTaDa Registered Users Posts: 169 Major grins
edited February 6, 2008 in Cameras
I finally got sick and tired of missing all of the shots of my son with the near second delay on our point and clicks. I went out and purchased a Canon Rebel XT with the kit 18-55 lens. My wife also purchased me the Canon 70-300 USM IS for my birthday (which will be coming up soon). Also, someone had a 50mm 1.4 with hood and filter, for $250, so I snagged that. My son is currently 2 years old, and the main focus of my new camera, but I also will be trying out some nature pictures once Spring comes. I guess what I'm asking is:

Any other glass that you guys would consider a "must have"
Any accessories that you would consider a "must have" (I've been told to look at the Canon BG-E3 battery grip)

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated :)
My Kit
Canon 5DII, Canon 7D
Canon Canon 24-70 f/2.8L, Canon 35 f/1.4L, Canon 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, Canon 85 f/1.2L II, Canon 500mm f/4 IS, Zeiss 21mm ZE
Speedlite 580ex II, Canon 430ex

Comments

• swintonphotoswintonphoto Registered Users Posts: 1,664 Major grins
    edited February 2, 2008
    I think you've got a great start. I think use the gear you have for a while and see if you feel it limits you from doing anything you want to do. I don't know if there is anything else you "need" at this point.
    If I had one recommendation - maybe a tripod. But, again that depends.
    Play with the camera and lenses for a while. You will probably be very satisfied with what you have. Congrats and welcome!
  • ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,079 moderator
    edited February 2, 2008
    Welcome to the Digital Grin. clap.gif

Easily as important are electronic flash units for indoor work, as well as some light modifiers (which you can even DIY for little or nothing.)

I highly recommend either the Canon 580EX/580EX II or the Sigma EF-500 DG Super with E-TTL II (or newer EF-530 DG Super.)