Options

Older manual lens on D70 (should I, shouldn't I?)

JperryJperry Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
edited February 5, 2008 in Technique
Hi all, I'm new here but i've been a lurker for quite a while. I was hoping to get a little perspective on this. :wink

I have a D70, and want to try a new lens, something nice for portraits, but won't break the bank. I already have a Tamron 28-75, which is pretty good, so I was thinking of an 85 1.8. That was before I started reading about the 105 2.8 AI lens that's pretty inexpensive, and takes great photos.

Of course, i've never used an all manual lens before, I went to a local shop & tried it, and it's pretty sharp in low light, but I'm still wondering if it's a good move. :scratch

Anyone have this lens? Does it take great photos? Or, should I just save up a couple hundred more & get the 85 1.8?

I would be using it mainly for outdoors portraits. Any thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,909 moderator
    edited February 4, 2008
    Jperry wrote:
    Hi all, I'm new here but i've been a lurker for quite a while. I was hoping to get a little perspective on this. mwink.gif

I have a D70, and want to try a new lens, something nice for portraits, but won't break the bank. I already have a Tamron 28-75, which is pretty good, so I was thinking of an 85 1.8. That was before I started reading about the 105 2.8 AI lens that's pretty inexpensive, and takes great photos.

Of course, i've never used an all manual lens before, I went to a local shop & tried it, and it's pretty sharp in low light, but I'm still wondering if it's a good move. headscratch.gif

Anyone have this lens? Does it take great photos? Or, should I just save up a couple hundred more & get the 85 1.8?

I would be using it mainly for outdoors portraits. Any thoughts?

Welcome to the Digital Grin. clap.gif