Photographer's Insurance

Mulder32Mulder32 Registered Users Posts: 58 Big grins
edited April 16, 2010 in Mind Your Own Business
I'm just starting out and am curious about insurance specific to photographers. I got a price quote from Hill and Usher out of Phoenix, and am curious what other people do and how much they pay (per year). Thanks in advance!

www.focalpointphoto.smugmug.com
Mike
Canon 2 x 5D, 24-70L, 70-200 2.8IS, 50 f1.4, 580EXII, 2 x 550EX, CP-E4

Comments

• FoocharFoochar Registered Users Posts: 135 Major grins
    edited February 5, 2008
    Mulder32 wrote:
    I'm just starting out and am curious about insurance specific to photographers. I got a price quote from Hill and Usher out of Phoenix, and am curious what other people do and how much they pay (per year). Thanks in advance!

This seems to come up here on dgrin pretty reguarly. Search is your friend, here are a few links to previous threads where this has been discussed:

http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=81544
    http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=75188
    http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=73550
    http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=56323

I don't have anything to add to my own comments in the first thread I've linked to, so I'll let those links stand on their own...
    --Travis
  • Jeremy44Jeremy44 Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
    edited March 16, 2010
    You need an insurance policy that will cover your equipment for theft, damage or other loss. An insurance agent will generally need each item you want insured listed individually with make, model, serial number and value. This list will need to be maintained as you acquire and sell your equipment. Generally, insurance companies charge a rate of $.$$/$1,000 of coverage. Be sure to check that the coverage you are getting is "replacement" coverage. You need to discuss where and how the equipment will be used including any for-profit use.
  • JohnBiggsJohnBiggs Registered Users Posts: 841 Major grins