Lighting Arrangement - Need Help!

mbg0333mbg0333 Registered Users Posts: 51 Big grins
edited February 6, 2008 in People
Ok I am doing Kindergarten Graduation Pictures and need help on the best lighting situatuion!

The equipment I have:

2- Alien Bees B800

[SIZE=-1]2[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]LS3050 10-foot General Purpose Light Stands[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]
1[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]U48TWB 48-inch Translucent White "Shoot-Thru" Umbrella[/SIZE]
1 [SIZE=-1]U48SW 48-inch Silver/White Umbrella[/SIZE]
1 [SIZE=-1]RFT1TX Radio Flash Trigger One Transmitter[/SIZE]
2 [SIZE=-1]RFT1RX Radio Flash Trigger One Receivers

The following pictures are of the location I will be shooting at:

group.jpg

I wasnt sure if I should put the strobes closer are further back or if they would even be necessary.

individual.jpg

Keep in mind the furniture will not be there and they want to incorporate the globe in the compostion.

Any ideas would be great.

I shoot a Canon 20d if that helps!!

Also keep in mind, I am totally new to indoor lighting. I have shot outdoor events for everything. I actually just got my lights today. But I got to start somewhere and if this job goes good I will book the entire schools outdoor spring pictures. 130 KIDS!!!

Thanks in advance!!

Maxx Gandy
www.mbgphotography.com
www.mysportphotos.com
[/SIZE]

Comments

• joshhuntnmjoshhuntnm Registered Users Posts: 1,924 Major grins
    edited February 5, 2008
    I am no expert, but i'd err on the side of close rather than farther.

It is hard for me to tell in the second one. it looks like the background will not be too well lit, which is good. That is what I would look to do--get the background to fall away by getting it quite a bit darker than the subject.
  • SwartzySwartzy Registered Users Posts: 3,293 Major grins
    edited February 5, 2008
    My take