Options

Frustrated amateur

SystemSystem Registered Users Posts: 8,186 moderator
edited February 10, 2008 in Technique
I am a frustrated amateur. I take a lot of photos but compared to images at Getty's mine are terrible. Photography courses are too expensive and practising just reinforces what I am doing wrong.

How can I become an amazing photography?

What steps should I take?

Any advice please? :dunno:dunno:dunno:dunno

Comments

• Options
    darkdragondarkdragon Registered Users Posts: 1,051 Major grins
    edited February 6, 2008
    One thing you could do, is focus your study on one thing at a time.

For example, say you like photos of people. Focus on taking great portraits. Read books about it, do online tutorial, submit your photos for critque (and try out some suggestions).

There is a great tutorial here on dgrin over in Monthly assignments for portrait work (just as an example).

Look at photos you like and try to figure out how they did it. How did they get the light there, or the depth of field, etc.

When first learning thing, I find that the best way to try and replicate something that I like that someone else already did. Once you can do that, you can stretch yourself and make new things, but the tecniques you figured out will be priceless for you.
    ~ Lisa
  • Options
    jfriendjfriend Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited February 7, 2008
    deltadelta wrote:
    I am a frustrated amateur. I take a lot of photos but compared to images at Getty's mine are terrible. Photography courses are too expensive and practising just reinforces what I am doing wrong.

Any advice please? ne_nau.gifdunnone_nau.gifdunno

If practicing isn't helping you, then you probably need to work on how you practice.