macro lens question

starky987starky987 Registered Users Posts: 86 Big grins
edited February 13, 2008 in Holy Macro
So I'm new to photography and had a few macro questions. First is about the lens itself. i don't understand what makes a good macro lens. When I look to purchase a lens I look at how 18mm-200mm measurement. (obviously I'm very new to photography) If a macro lens says 50mm why am I able to take pictures that are incredibly close up? Couldn't I do that with my normal camera lens? I'm also very interested in getting macro lens and was recommended to get the sigma lens. Once I purchase the lens am I ready to hook it up to my camera and start shooting or do I have to do other stuff before I can take good macro shots? I'd really just like to learn about macro photography b/c I am very interested in it. Any help would be appreciated and please don't think I'm a complete idiot, I'm still learning about photography as I go. Thanks

Comments

• IcebearIcebear Registered Users Posts: 4,015 Major grins
    edited February 12, 2008
    starky987 wrote:
    I'm very new to photography

Run away! Run away! Now, before it's too late!

OK, don't say I didn't warn you. The fundemental difference in a dedicated macro lens and a "normal" lens is in the way the lens is constructed. A macro lens has the ability to focus on a subject that is much closer to the "film plane" than a normal lens.

You can make a normal lens act much like a macro lens at close focusing distances with the use of extension tubes that move the lens away from the film plane (sensor). One big advantage of a dedicated macro lens is that it is also able to focus at more "normal" distances, up to and including infinity. Can't do that with a lens mounted on extension tubes.

Extension tubes are an economical method of getting into photographing the world of the small. It's addictive though. That's why I warned you to run away.
    John :