Mallory (senior), four images

Mrs FMrs F Registered Users Posts: 164 Major grins
edited February 16, 2008 in People
This is my first try with studio lights and a backdrop. My niece Mallory graciously volunteered to let me take some senior-style portraits of her. She's going to use some of these for her senior pictures. Any C&C would be greatly appeciated.

246743806_xnbZR-L.jpg

2. This image is one of her favorites and I cut her hand off (ugh).
246714271_UkuPK-L.jpg

3. She loves the following image too but I think it's a little soft. I snapped it during some down time. I also think the backdrop looks a little sloppy.
246713344_RSULC-L.jpg

249612818_7Kfvr-L.jpg
C and C always welcome.

Comments

• GP ImagesGP Images Registered Users Posts: 152 Major grins
    edited February 15, 2008
    She has tears in her jeans eek7.gif Seriously though....very pretty girl. Great eyes and you captured them beautifully!
  • jeffreaux2jeffreaux2 Registered Users Posts: 4,762 Major grins
    edited February 15, 2008
    Hey Mrs F!!! I haven't seen a post from you in a while, but always look forward to it.

These are very nice, and your neice looks adorable.

Now...how about some critique?

1- The lighting isn't dramatic, but is well done. I like the photo, it is nice and sharp. I only wish her shoulders weren't so slumped. I think an improvement would be to have her sit a bit straighter, and to get the camera a tad higher. It is a very nice photo as is.

2- I like the angle. Again the lighting and sharpness are fine. I am not bothered by her hand being cropped. I am not so sure though that I like that arm in the composition at all. Still you have done a good job here, I just don't particularly like the arm in the pose.

3-I am not crazy about this one, but I do like the fact that she is having fun. Again the lighting is fine, and I don't notice any softness in particular.