My first Official post!

TJAmyTJAmy Registered Users Posts: 36 Big grins
edited March 26, 2004 in Wildlife
I am still learning about all the buttons on my camera. I have the Sony f828 and would love some advise about metering. I pulled over to take these guys picture today and have no idea what my camera was set on. It was a very overcast day and these guys were not happy to see me.

Comments

• TJAmyTJAmy Registered Users Posts: 36 Big grins
    edited March 24, 2004
    I still have these pictures way too big. I'll figure it out soon!
    edited March 24, 2004
    How does Andy get his pictures so crisp? ne_nau.gif
  • pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,694 moderator
    edited March 24, 2004
    TJAmy wrote:
    How does Andy get his pictures so crisp? ne_nau.gif
    There are a number of things he may be doing differently. You said you did not know what our camera was set at - Well... the ISO was 200 according to the EXIF data embedded in your picture. You might have less noise in the image if it hd been shot at ISO 50. But you may not have had enough light to hand hold at ISO 50 becuse your aperature was f2.0. YOu could have used a flash to enable a lower ISO value. The 828 takes lovely pictures but is known to get noisy at the higher ISOs.

Andy may( and he may not - I have not asked him ) have used a plug-in in Photoshop to decrease the noise - Image Doctor or Noise Ninja will both do this. I ran your image through Image Doctor while I cloned out some of he vegetation and this is what I ended up with. I also added the frame to set the image off. These are all things that are easily donr in and image editing program. Sometimes we, as photographers, get so excited by what we see, that we do not notice the weeds in the way of our image until we get the picture back....... Hmmm - the picture is not getting attached - I will link it via smugmug

Hee we go.....3057494-L.jpg

Perhaps Andy will tell us himself - I would be interested too......