Options

Pricing, it's high.

davidweaverdavidweaver Registered Users Posts: 681 Major grins
edited February 29, 2008 in SmugMug Pro Sales Support
This has to come up from time to time.
having worked for a former competitor of EZprints I know a bit about costs and pricing. I want to buffer these comments by adding that I fully appreciate that a profitable and financially stable Smugmug is in everyone's best interest.

I'm also a new Pro subscriber, and I think we should get better pricing.

The lab cost for a 4x6 is between 2 and 5 cents. If you run a Cyra (or 6) and keep running them (like Shutterfly does) then your cost per print is closer to 2 cents. On a Fuji Frontier it's closer to 4-5 cents. YMMV.

EZ charges 19 cents for a 4x6. This is a pretty good business. As a consumer customer I can find good deals on print prices. Dotphoto uses EZ and they sell them for 8 cents. Okay...you gotta buy a package and there is the profits from shipping and lack of redemption.

Certainly, Smugmug is getting good Business-to-Business pricing from EZ. EZ is a major mid-tier player in the industry and they have to compete with the likes of shutterfly, Kodak's B2B printing group (in the DFW area) and some others.

Why do I have to pay 29 cents plus a percentage of the sale price and my Pro fee. Why can't pro's get at least the same price as what EZ charges at retail if not a little bit less.

I don't offer anything over 11x14 from SM as my 'costs' are really far to high.

Again, I want SM to be profitable. I also want my work to be more profitable.

I wonder if more people would become Pro users if they had cheaper print prices. Hmmm...might not fit your biz model but it would be interesting to run the numbers.

Keep up the good work and lower my costs please.

David

Comments

• Options
    nipprdognipprdog Registered Users Posts: 660 Major grins
    edited February 19, 2008
    Why do I have to pay 29 cents

headscratch.gif
  • Options