Please Help!!!

wolfiewolfie Registered Users Posts: 26 Big grins
edited March 6, 2008 in Sports
I am new to photography and indoor sports in particular. I shot my friend's son's basketball game the other day that was played in a middle school gym. I read up on camera setting suggestions but did not get the results I had hoped for. Where did I go wrong???
canon 30d
iso 1600
wb - fluorescent
set shutter priority at 1/250
av 2.8
lens 70-200 IS canon lens

can these photos be saved? (I only know how to upload one pix)

Thanks

Comments

• ASkipASkip Registered Users Posts: 224 Major grins
    edited February 20, 2008
    wolfie wrote:
    I am new to photography and indoor sports in particular. I shot my friend's son's basketball game the other day that was played in a middle school gym. I read up on camera setting suggestions but did not get the results I had hoped for. Where did I go wrong???
    canon 30d
    iso 1600
    wb - fluorescent
    set shutter priority at 1/250
    av 2.8
    lens 70-200 IS canon lens

can these photos be saved? (I only know how to upload one pix)

Thanks
    Hi,
    I'm just trying out basketball this year too for a friend. and have almost the same settings (but a higher ISO and a color temp around 3000) in Nikon gear. and here's what I've decided... lower your expectations. Parents are happy to see their kids moving; they should give you a big hug and some thanks. Your picture looks pretty good for crummy middle school gym lights. With 3 kids lined up like that, only one's going to be in focus. and at 1/250 something's going to be moving. I USM mine, color correct, and then run them through a noise filter (Noiseware). Then I go outside and take pictures where I'm much happier and try to forget about basketball. hehe.
  • MJRPHOTOMJRPHOTO Registered Users Posts: 432 Major grins
    edited February 20, 2008
    ASkip wrote:
    Hi,